The Fold

Book on mathemagical theory

The Fold is a book by Zitona Malady which supposedly revolutionizes working mathemagical theory. Its exact contents are unknown, but it apparently allows Zitona to create portals or pathways between distant locations. The book is written in the Halfling language, but is filled with arcane notation that requires additional knowledge to comprehend.

There are many different topics covered in The Fold. Each topic grants understanding about a different aspect of the universe, which can be used to develop new technologies, including spells. To learn about one of the topics in The Fold, a character must typically have an understanding of one or more basic mathematical fields. They must then study the topic in-depth, usually with a tutor. Once the topic has been learned, the character can finally attempt to develop new spells.

Basic Mathematics

These basic mathematical concepts are not covered in The Fold, but must be learned in order to understand anything in The Fold. These are all covered in Caleb's Primer on Mathematics. To learn a topic, a character must spend 8 hours of study with a source of information (a primer or a tutor) and succeed on a DC 15 Intelligence (Arcana) check. On a failure, the character must start the 8 hours again.


The following topics are covered in The Fold. To learn a topic, a character must spend one week of study with a source of information (The Fold or a tutor) and succeed on an Intelligence (Arcana) check. The DC of each topic is given in its listing, along with its prerequisite mathematical bases.


The following is a list of spells that can be developed by a character with good knowledge of The Fold. Developing a spell follows the same rules as copying a spell from a scroll to a spellbook, except no scroll is necessary as long as the prerequisites are met, and the spells do not need to be on your spell list. Instead, the character must succeed on an Intelligence (Arcana) check, wasting time and materials on a failure. The DC is equal to 14 + the spell's level.

Level 1

Level 2

Level 3

Level 4

Level 5

Level 6

Level 7

Level 8

Level 9